Are you ready for the next part in our little fall series?

You’re Beautiful is a design that’s somewhat special for me.

You're Beautiful

I don’t recall exactly when I started working on this project, but it must have been some time in January or February. I got two skeins of Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in “Terra” as a present, a colorway that’s a little outside of my own comfort zone and I wouldn’t normally have chosen for myself. But as I started working with it, I was thrilled with this color and all the different shades, and I simply couldn’t stop looking at it anymore.

As I knitted row after row of stockinette stitch, an idea slowly started to form.

Every woman is beautiful—it just takes the right color to show it.

That’s the philosophy behind this triangular shawl.

Worked almost entirely in stockinette with a twisted rib edging, it’s the perfect canvas to allow an exceptional yarn to shine. (Perhaps that one you’ve been saving for a special project? We all got little treasuries stashed away, no?)

You’re Beautiful is an easy and meditative knit, with cleverly placed increases that give this shawl both, a wonderful drape and a lovely and very wearable shape. (If you’ve been following me already for a while, you know that for me, knitwear design is all about wearability. We all want pieces that fit in our everyday lives and that allow us to do the things we like to do without feeling customed or uneasy. YOU should always wear the shawl, not the other way around.)

Take another look at the photos. Isn’t the bright red popping out beautifully? But I can imagine wonderfully subtle colorways as well, like maybe Gossamer or Sugar Plum? Or maybe Maple Leaf, just right for fall?

The decision won’t be easy…

You're Beautiful

As always, if you like my designs and want to join me on the journey, hop over to my Ravelry group and share your projects, photos and experiences. Everyone is welcome!