If you’re following my blog for a while already, you know that I’m a huge fan of Quince & Co., a yarn company located at the coast of Maine. So quite naturally I was thrilled when I heard that Pam Allen, founder of Quince & Co., has started a new project.

Twig & Horn is a needlearts accessories company with a small but quite excellent line of products that make a knitter’s life easier.

Here’s what they say about themselves: “We are driven by the current American craftsman (and craftswoman!), whether they’re working with 1st or 21st century technology to make their goods. And we’re inspired by the enduring natural beauty and materials found here, as well as by the artistry of the cultures that existed here centuries and millennia ago.”

They were so lovely to send me a small assortment of what they offer and asked me to do a review, so let’s take a look!

Twig & Horn

The package itself that arrived at my place was special for two reasons: It used an eco-friendly material (the same envelopes Quince & Co. yarn comes in), and it was wrapped in a most lovely way. Let’s be honest – knitters are people that love beautyful details, so this alone was great already.

Twig & Horn

The first thing I unpacked was this gauge ruler, made from Baltic Birch Plywood, a material that’s known for its stability and durability.

It has a great natural feel to it, with a surface that’s plain and even so no fibers will possibly stick to it. Offering a metric as well as an American scale, it’s handy for knitters all over the globe. The 2 inches per 2 inches square makes it easy to handle the ruler: You actually only have to lay it on your knitting and can easily count the stitches – there’s no need to use pins to mark certain spots in the fabric.

Twig & Horn

There’s also a knitting needle gauge at the lower side of the ruler, going from 10 to 2 mm, or from US size 15 to 0.

I like this tool a lot more than I liked my old gauge ruler – that one was a lot smaller, made from plastic and pretty ugly. This one is not only handy but also has something beautiful to it. It’s well-balanced and well-thought-out.


The second thing I unwrapped was a piece of their Wool Soap Bar. This Soap comes in four different scents: White Grapefruit, Lemongrass, Rose Wood, and Unscented. Mine was in Rose Wood – what a lucky coincidence as I happen to love this scent!

As soon as I opened the paper box, the scent emerged and I wish this blog post could somehow transfer it to your place. It’s hard to describe – it was fresh, clean and reminded me of roses and freshly washed laundry, hanging outside in the sun to dry.

Twig & Horn

The soap is packed with the highest-grade lanolin available for restoring and optimizing wool garments.

On the back of the box, there’s a detailed description on how to best treat your woolen handknits with the soap.

Twig & Horn

Of course I wanted to try it out! Luckily, I had just the perfect item at hand: A small lace square I had just bound off the other day. (I’m working on a lace blanket made out of many, many mitered squares.)

Twig & Horn

All it takes is a small basin filled with lukewarm water. I soaked the square, lathered my hands with the soap and gently squeezed the suds through it.

Twig & Horn

I left the square in the water for another fifteen minutes, carefully took it out and pressed some of the water out. I didn’t rinse it, instead directly blocked it out to open up the fabric.

The square was beautiful once it had dried. The fabric was soft – it had really blossomed! And it carried this scent of rosewood, which was quite lovely.


So, did I get you interested in Twig & Horn? If so, you can find their website here or follow them on Instagram. They’re working on extending their range of products, so it’s definitely worth it to keep an eye out for what they come up with next.