A couple of days ago my friends at Blacker Yarns got in touch with me to let me know about something very special: They’re celebrating their 10th anniversary. And what could a Cornish Wool Mill do better than celebrate this with a new yarn?

Tin

Here’s what they say about Tin: “This lovely woollen spun yarn is blended from a collection fo ten of the highest quality fibers which we know and love, from suppliers with whom we work regularly.”

They’ve used ten different fibers to blend into this yarn: Alpaca, Mohair, Gotland, Jacob, Shetland, Black Welsh Mountain, Texel, English Merino, Falklands Merino and Gotland/Romney Cross – it’s an impressive medley of the wide variety of British fibers.

Tin is a truly limited edition and will not be reproduced. So quite logically, the palette it comes in is small.

Tin

From top to bottom, it’s Levant Grey, Pengenna Green, Botallack Blue, Dolcoath Turquoise and Wheal Rose Red – all of these names refer to Cornwall, the home of Blacker Yarns, and it’s a small, but very fine range of colors – perfect for adult garments, I would say.

As you can see from the color card, there are two weights available – 4-ply and DK.

I’ve swatched the DK – take a look. From top to down it’s garter stitch, stockinette stitch, a slip stitch texture and a twisted 1×1 ribbing.

Tin

Oh yes, Tin has its very own character! This is not your fancy super-wash merino – this yarn is rustic and sturdy in the most lovely way.

I would not use it for texture-heavy knits – the Alpaca and Mohair fibers have a slight fuzz and will hide a lot of the texture, as you can see in the swatch, too. But the DK weight is absolutely perfect for cold-weather garments or shawls. When swatching I actually felt ported back through time, to back when I knitted the samples for my “5 Shawls” collection – Tin and Owl feel a bit like sisters. I loved working with a rustic yarn like Owl, and I can totally say the same about Tin.

Fot the 4-ply version, that would be great for all kinds of projects. I can see myself doing a cardigan, a shawl or a small accessory set in this – the latter is especially teasing as Christmas is not far away and it’s getting time for some gift knitting.


Did I get you excited, too?

Cornish Tin will launch on September 18, but the color cards are available now already.

You can find Blacker Yarns on Facebook, on Instagram or join their Ravelry group to show your creations.

Tin