The last thing I was knitting “just for fun” was Milena’s Shalom Cardigan – I finished it in January 2013. Since then, no non-working-related knitting for me…

Don’t you think it’s time to change that?!

Light Trails

I’ve been to my LYS just the other day and got some beautiful wool/alpaca/nylon blend. But to be honest – I think it’s been that colorway that drew me towards this yarn in the first place. This light grey, slightly heathered, with this fuzzy alpaca look about it… I simply couldn’t resist.

So, what will I be knitting? It’s not been a tough decision at all. Of course a pattern by one of my favorite indie designers, and I decided for Light Trails by Suvi Simola. I think it’s the perfect sweater: Flattering, comfortable to wear, enjoyable to knit and with an extraordinary cable detail that adds the final touch. I can’t wait to get started!

Alas, I still have to wait a bit with that. My work queue is full and I won’t find any time for “fun knitting” until beginning of May. René and I will go on a four days wellness holiday trip then, and there’s no wellness without knitting, don’t you think so?

But I allowed myself to do some swatching now already. (You know, it just seemed impossible not to do at least some stitches right now!)

And here’s a clever little trick I’d like to share with you.

Have you ever done some swatching without noting down the needle size? If you’re like me, you’re doing this all the time! Sometimes I create a Ravelry project and put the needle sizes there, but sometimes I don’t. I’m just thinking “Oh hey, c’mon, it’s a size #4 needle. I’m just gonna keep that in mind, no problem!”. Well. Haha.

So, what I’m doing now, instead of noting the needle size down (or constantly forgetting this) is to simply work some purl stitches right on my stockinette swatch. For example, for this swatch I used said #4 [3.5mm] needle, so I worked 3 and 5 purl stitches instead of knitted ones. The next time I want to know what needle size I used for that swatch, I only have to count the purl bumps.

Swatch

I hope this will save you from some future needle size confusion, too!