Boy, it’s been a while since I decided to get started on this little Malabrigo project. But there was our boy’s birthday, then there were Christmas and New Year’s Eve, then our Nanny got seriously ill and couldn’t work (tomorrow’s the first day she’ll be taking care on the two lil’ ones since mid December), then our little girl got a little ill, then our boy, then my husband and then me… all stuff that prevented me from getting started on this.

okker swatch

But yesterday I had a day alone at home, and though I still had a head, at least I managed to get the swatch done.

I really love the way this yarn knits up! It smoothly runs through my fingers, and the fabric is soft and great on the skin. I can’t wait to cast on and slip in for the first time!

I’m also deeply in love with that colorway. I have just so many skirts and shirts in my wardrobe that will go together with that shade perfectly. I’m really looking forward! I have a shawl to finish and hope to cast on for the cardigan during the upcoming week.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention: I ordered new knitting needles for this project. I usually work with KnitPro wooden needles, but as I wanted to use a 2mm (US 0) I had to switch to metal ones. I ordered a set of Chiaogoo Red Lace – thrilled to try them out!

In my head, this design is already finished. I’ve been thinking about it quite much in the past weeks, and I know exactly where I want to go with it. Now I just have to knit it up and write the pattern. That’s a piece of cake, no?