A couple of weeks ago I spotted a Sokol project on Ravelry that I can’t help but adore.
Steampunk SokolMy Sokol mitts sure have something steampunky about them – but Jennie’s FO really brought that to perfection!

There are so many amazing details in this project that I don’t even know where to start.

Jennie used madelinetosh tosh vintage, a yarn that comes in the most amazing colorways, and the one she chose is simply perfect. It has this slight washed-out effect, but if you take a closer look you’ll discover new shades and colors that you just hadn’t seen before.

I also love the buttons. Studs and rivets are very much my style and you’ll find quite a couple of them in my wardrobe.

Jennie has changed the way the straps are made – mine are worked in plain stockinette, while hers are done in seed stitch, which gives some extra texture and makes them somewhat stand out.

Speaking of standing out… there’s this amazing clock worn together with the mitts! I have no idea if it’s functional or not, but that doesn’t matter – it looks deadly cool.🙂

Jennie sent me a couple of pictures, showing her and her husband both wearing their steampunk costumes.

Jennie

I just love this look! ♥

Thank you so much, Jennie, for allowing me to show these photos here on the blog!