… and temperatures slowly start dropping, the time for cozy and soft handknits has finally come!

Fall is my favourite season, although the rain does terrible things to my hair. But I can bear that.

In the last days I dug out all my knitted shawls and mitts – the ones I wore last year and a couple of brandnew ones as well. It’s a little bit like meeting old friends again, and I had some fun putting them on and off and combining them with new pieces of my wardrobe.

Some of them I love especially. My Amrei mitts of course – I wore them practically every day last winter. Inside or outside, in rain, snow and wind, when shopping, at the playground and pretty much everywhere else, too. They really look worn now and when I find the time I should maybe make myself a new pair.

And I got Nangou out of its box as well. Last winter it was not yet finished, but I wore it a couple of times before summer got real hot this year. Actually I’m wearing it right now, because I feel I caught a cold and I’m sitting on the sofa, wrapped in a warm sweater, cozy pants and little Nangou. I just love this shawl. It’s so wearable and casual and it just makes me feel good.🙂

Do you like to have a peek at some of the new designs I mentioned before?

Here is a matching set I just released the other day: After the Frost Beret and After the Frost Mitts.

After the Frost Beret

They’ve been long in the making and it’s a great feeling to finally have them live!

After the Frost Mitts

Two skeins of Knit Picks Gloss Fingering will be enough to knit them both.

The mitts are worked from the wrist outwards into both directions, using a provisional cast on. A simple cable pattern covers the underarm and a picot bind-off at both ends sets a lovely accent.

The same cable pattern is used for the brim of the hat. Again, it’s a provisional cast-on, and both ends of the brim are grafted together with the kitchener stitch. Then stitches are picked up along each side of the brim to finish the picot edging and the rest of the hat.

Both pieces knit up quickly and will keep you entertained while working on them. They’re also a great chance to pick up on a new skill. Did you always want to learn how to graft? How to do a provisional cast-on? Were you afraid of cables until now or would you like to learn two different ways to do a picot edging? If you can answer any of these questions with yes, this set was just waiting for you.🙂

When you cast on, please make sure to share photos! You’re always welcome to post them to the FO thread in my Ravelry group.

I still wanted to tell you a bit about another new design of mine, the Sokol mitts, but I got pretty tired all of a sudden and I’ll postpone this. Of course, if you like to, just hop over to Ravelry and have a peek!