I’m crazy for asymmetry in knitting, and there are a million ways to combine these two.

Chimaira

 

With this shawl I’m trying to use a real unusual way with a center spine that’s, well, not centered at all. It’s hard to see from the picture, but I don’t want to reveal too much as I’m only at the beginning of the process and who knows, maybe I’ll mess it up completely…

I’ll keep adding photos to the ravelry project page, so just peek in if you’re curious.

The yarn, by the way, is great to work with! You surely recognized it from my last blog post, it’s Wisp from Dream in Color, a silk merino blend. Super luxurious! I’m so excited how it will feel once it’s washed and blocked!

And did you notice the ball I wound on the picture? I actually don’t own a swift and a ball winder. I do it by hand. Every time. Must have been a couple of miles of yarn that have gone through my hands! I really plan on buying these tools one day, but somehow other things are always more urgent. And, to be honest, I somehow like the process, too. It usually gives me a first feeling of how the yarn behaves, how it will be to knit up and – last but not least – if there are any knots in a skein.