What are you doing these days? How do you spend your time in this change of seasons, with spring just about to leave and summer on the doorstep?

I’m having a wonderful time. In fact, right now I am sitting on the sofa in my newly built, small fiber studio (I’ll show you more of that soon), drinking a coffee and having my knitting right here with me. Our two big kids are on holiday with grandpa and grandma, the little one is sleeping, René is downstairs, listening to a Pink Floyd album he just bought on the flea market we visited this morning. Yes, life can be a lot worse than that, and I’m very grateful for everything.

Oh, speaking of knitting… what’s on your needles right now? I’d love to tell you what’s on mine, but that’s gonna have to wait a bit longer. I’m working on something big!


 

But I do have some knitting news for you. Do you remember Waterscape, the lovely shawl that’s been part of Quince & Co.’s Scarves, Etc., 2014 earlier this year?

Waterscape

We just started a knit-along (KAL) for this design in my Ravelry group. It’s still running until July 27th, so there’s still plenty of time to join in, even if summer fatigue has its grip on you.

Waterscape is all about wearability, and it lends itself to a variety of yarns and weights. It’s a design that works the same great in a summery linen yarn as in a heavy, warm merino for the colder seasons.

I’ve already shown some of my favorite color combinations for Waterscape here on the blog a couple of weeks ago, but some wonderful, new ideas have already been introduced in the KAL. There’s a super funky red and white version, and there’s lots of pink as well as neutrals in beautiful arrangements.

So, what are you up to? Let us know about your inspiration and knit along with us!


I also have a new design out, and boy, that one was just SO much fun to knit!

Color it Plaid

 

Color it Plaid is a shawl that plays with color and texture, and the result is a piece that’s an eye-catcher for sure. Can you even imagine all the awesome color combinations that are possible for this design? How about a straight black and white version? Or grey and red, or even pink? Two shades of green? Orange on brown? Oh, I could go on and on with that… (isn’t choosing yarn and colors for a new project one of the most exciting steps of the whole process?!)

Color it Plaid is part of Knit Pick’s latest collection, Sock Yarn Shawls, and available through their site.


 

Ok, friends, I hope I could get you a little excited and maybe steer you away from the TV and the Soccer World Cup for a minute. (I’m just SO into this! We’re trying to watch as many matches as possible, and please, folks, keep your fingers crossed for the match Germany – Ghana later today!)

Happy knitting – and kicking – , everybody! ♥